´╗┐Francistown Club Wins Bowling Champs

| May 19, 2015

Francistown Bowling Club are the overall winners of the 40th National Bowling Championships that took place in Selebi Phikwe from May 9 -17.

The club, which accumulated 49 points on Saturday (May 16), to mark the end of a weeklong tournament, received the Rhodes Trophy.

Phikwe Bowling Club came in second with 44 points followed by Gaborone Bowling Club with 39 points while Jwaneng Bowling Club came in fourth with 30 points and Orapa Bowling Club with 13 points.

So far, Gaborone has won the tournament for a record 16 times followed by Francistown with eight (8) titles while PhikweLobatse clubs won the annual tournament six (6) times each.

The competition took place in four disciplines which included singles, pairs, trips and fours in both male and female categories.

The ladies singles was won by Binkie Gaborutwe of Phikwe Bowling club who defeated the defending champion, Pauline Lekone of Gaborone Club by 21 to 12 shots to be declared women’s singles champion for 2015.

In an interview, she said she took aantage of the home ground and practiced very hard to win her gold medal. Gaborutwe will represent Botswana in Australia at the world championship of champs in November 2016.

The men’s singles championship was won by Khumo Kebalatetse also representing Phikwe Bowling Club after beating Baven Balendra from Francistown Bowling Club by 21 to 20 shots in a close contested game. He will be representing Botswana at men’s single champions of champ’s competition in Australia next year November.

Regarding the pair’s discipline, in ladies category Gaborutwe and Nelly Senna of Phikwe Bowling Club defeated Elandri Collington and Tillie Van der Walt of Francistown Bowling Club by 17 to 15 shots to be declared the pairs gold medalists.

The silver medal went to Ivy Morton and Pauline Lekone of Gaborone Club with 6 points plus 36 shots.

In men’s pairs category, Boitumelo Sesenyi and Adam Kesegofetse of Jwaneng Bowling Club won with 9 points plus 6 shots while defending champions, Benish Des Desai and George Nail from Francistown Blowing Club were runner ups with seven (7) points plus 36 shots.

The triples competition in the ladies category was won by Obopile Ashby, Charmaine Hanseen and Sheila Mohamed of Francistown Bowling Club who walked away with a gold medal after accumulating nine (9) points plus 60 shots, whereas in the men’s category, Baven Balendra, Andre Van der Walt and Sonny Mbisana also from Francistown won gold with eight (8) points plus 25 shots.

Fours discipline in the ladies category was won by the Jwaneng club who defeated Phikwe club by 22 to 13 shots. Phikwe club men’s team represented by Oabona Motlaadiile, Diane Senna, John Gaborutwe and Khumo Kebalatetse won gold after defeating last year’s finalists- Francistown club by 22 to 19 shots.

During the awarding ceremony, personality of the tournament was awarded to Troy David of Phikwe club and Marea Modutlwa of Gaborone Club. The player of the tournament award was received by Kgomotso Konyana and Bonnie Fox of Gaborone club.

For his part, the president of Botswana Bowling Association, Mr Kitso Robert said the bowling sport has grown a lot in Botswana and the teams have improved their level of play over the years.

He further indicated that this year, they did not have a sponsor but that did not deter them from running the tournament. He said that they are hoping to secure a sponsor next year, adding that one of their main focus as BBA is to attract more youth and encourage them to play the sport.

Jonathan Vegeer, the divisional manager finance and Administration at BCL Limited said the tournament left a lasting legacy in the mining town.

He expressed hope that the competition would continue taking place in Selebi Phikwe even beyond 2020. He also called on clubs to lure young players into the game and help the sport grow and develop to a higher level in Botswana.

Source : BOPA

Source : Botswana Daily News

Category: Governance

Comments are closed.