Tladi Retains T20 Title

| May 26, 2015

Tladi lifted the Botswana Cricket Association (BCA) T20 title for the second year in a row by comfortably beating Ditlhase by 18 runs in the final played at the BCA Oval on Sunday May 24.

In a repeat of last year’s final, the Gaborone based club elected to bat first after winning the toss and scored 156-5 in the first innings. Waseem Tajbhay with 43 runs from 31 balls, and Nabil Master with 25 runs from 22 balls, were the best batsman for Tladi on the day.

Though they lost a wicket early when Zain Abbasi was bowled out by Afzal Patel in the fourth over the Tladi batsmen never lost their momentum. Their second partnership between Karabo Motlhanka and Karabo Modise took the score to 57 runs before Modise was dismissed by Noor Ahmed in the ninth over.

Soon after Motlhanka was caught by James Moses as Tladi lost their third wicket, but the next partnership Tajbhay and Master took the team to 112 runs.

The partnership was broken in the 17th over when Master was caught by Moses, but Tladi finished their innings with 156-5 Mansoor Hussain and Namal Bandara the batsmen not out. Ditlhase started their chase horribly with Akhlaq Raja getting bowled out in the second over.

But their second partnership between Inzimam Master and Sooraj Nair hit 54 balls in the next six overs. But Ditlhase’s momentum slowed down after Master was bowled out after mishitting a delivery from Mansoor Hussain in the eighth over with the score 69-2.

Master with 40 runs from 26 balls was the best batsman for Ditlhase. Nair and James Moses were quickly dismissed in the next five overs, and Ditlhase were ultimately 138-9 when their innings finished.

Tladi had aanced to the knockout stages after winning the Southern region with four points from three matches while Ditlhase finished on second place with the same number of points.

They then defeated Northern region runners-up Francistown Sports and Recreation Club by seven wickets in the semifinals. Ditlhase on the other hand beat Northern region winners Francistown Cricket Club by eight wickets in the semifinals.

Ditlhase player James Moses was elected Player of the Tournament after making a total of 173 runs and taking four wickets in the tournament. Waseem Tajbhay won the best batsman award with 199 runs from five matches, while the best bowler was Vimal Joseph of Ditlhase with 10 wickets from four matches.

Source : BOPA

Source : Botswana Daily News

Category: Sports

Comments are closed.