Medical/Health Care

Dr Lesitaokana Contributes Chapter, Co-edits New Media Studies Book

Head of the University of Botswana Media Studies Department, Dr William Lesitaokana, is part of 22 university scholars from Africa and the Caribbean who contributed chapters to a recently published book on media, culture and technology.
Dr Lesitaokana not only contributed but co-edited the book with Hopeton Dunn of Jamaica but based in Botswana, Dumisani Moyo of Zimbabwe, based in South Africa and Shanade Bianca Barnabas of South Africa. Another scholar from Botswana who contributed to the book, is a former lecturer in the same department, Dr Seamogano Mosanako, who is now in the communications department at Bank of Botswana.
The new edited volume, titled *Re-Imagining Communication in Africa and the Caribbean: Global South Issues in Media, Culture and Technology has been published by Palgrave Macmillan and provides critical explorations of people and media in their diverse engagements with culture, communication and technology in the 11 countries represented.
With change and reform at its core, the book traverses the domains of new media and traditional culture, music as resistance, reforms to communication theory, resisting colonial and imperial legacies, advocating journalistic renewal, and exploring new corporate and cultural strategies, among others. It covers print journalism, broadcast radio and television, digital media, popular music, and video games—in a range of national and cultural contexts.
The book also pays particular attention to the role of media and technology in the experiences of disadvantaged or under-represented groups, including women and indigenous communities. Early endorsements of the book were provided by Professor Tawana Kupe, Media Scholar and Vice Chancellor of University of Pretoria; and Professor Rupert Lewis, Pan African Scholar and Emeritus Professor of Political Thought at the University of the West Indies.
Other chapter contributors include Melville Cooke of Jamaica, Herman Wasserman of South Africa, Anthony Gunde and Victor Chikaipa of Malawi, Hagos Nigussie of Ethiopia, Carol Munoz Nieves of Cuba, Shanade Bianca Barnabas and Itunu Bodunrin of South Africa, Daina Nathaniel of Trinidad and Tobago, Nicola Bidwell based in Namibia, Parkie Mbozi of Zambia, Rachel van der Merwe of South Africa, Lloyd Waller and Nicola Satchell of Jamaica, Musonda Kapatamoyo of Zambia based in the US, Nova Gordon Bell of Jamaica, Collen Chambwera of Zimbabwe, Paul Chiudza Banda of Malawi, Dumisani Moyo of Zimbabwe, based in South Africa, and Hopeton Dunn of Jamaica, based in Botswana.
According to early reviewers, the scholars engaged critically with the central issues of how we communicate, produce, resist, reform, entertain, and build communities in early 21st-century Africa and the Caribbean.

Source: University of Botswana