Kutlwano Finest

Kutlwano were the finest volleyball club at Tuesday night’s Mascom volleyball league awards after both the women and men teams were crowned the champions.

Each team pocketed P100 000 while first runners up, Mafolofolo, women and Police men, won P70 000 each. Those in position three, Kalavango women and BDF men, pocketed P60 000 each.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Minister of Youth Sport and Culture, Thapelo Olopeng, said the quality of Botswana sport had improved as athletes continued to do well internationally. He said awards such these were an inspiration to the young generation, hence aising parents to allow their children to play sport.

Olopeng said the awards were a confirmation of the partnership between sport and the private sector as the Mascom and volleyball partnership came a long way.

He said the ministry was looking into budgeting for facilities of different codes to ensure that Botswana produced first class athletes.

The minister commended the sport leadership for the country’s sterling performance, citing the national volleyball team’s performance at the world cup qualifiers where they reached the final stage.

Meanwhile, Tsholofelo Retsabile of Mafolofolo scooped the female attacker award, while Kutlwano’s Tabaka Mothudi won male attacker award. Best female blocker went to Kalavango’s Monica Alfred while male blocker went to Rebabonye Pastor of Diphatsa.

Sesha Matswiri of Kutlwano was named best female setter while Tjiyapo Madeluka also from Kutlwano was awarded best male setter. Kutlwano’s Tebogo Sejewe was named female server whereas Mothudi won it on the male side.

Best female receiver went to Garesepe Mashaole of Kalavango with BDF’s Patrict Tlale winning it in the men’s category. Chada Majaha of BDF scooped the best female defender while Tlale won the best male defender. The players won themselves trophies and P2 000 in cash.

The best coach female team went to Kutlwano’s Dopp Popo while Isaac Samuel of Kutlwano won it for the men team. The most valuable female player went to Retshabile while Mothudi won the same award in the male category with each pocketing P3 000.

In the media awards, Legwatagwata Kheme of Midweek and Guardian won the print media reporter while Gabz FM’s Monnakgotla Mojaki scooped the radio reporter award. Setshege Baruti was awarded the television camera person tittle whereas BOPA’s Thompson Keobaletswe won photographer of the year.

The TV reporter of the year award went to BTV’s Mpho Aaron. They pocketed P1 500 each.

Source : BOPA

Source : Botswana Daily News

Leave a Reply