Mojuta Is Selebi Phikwe Mayor

| December 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

The new mayor of Selebi Phikwe Town Council is nominated councillor, Mr Amogelang Mojuta while Mr Pilane Molefi deputises him.

The two, who were unopposed, were elected on November 27 during a special full council meeting. In his acceptance speech, Mr Mojuta urged councilors to work hard to realise the needs of Selebi Phikwe residents. He said it was time for councillors to take their jobs seriously and do their duties to the expectation of the electorate.

Mayor Mojuta said they should serve civil society truthfully and with diligence so as to leave a lasting legacy.

He urged councilors to work as a unit and put their political party caps aside when in council to work for the common good of bringing developments to Selebi Phikwe and uplifting the livelihoods of residents.

He called upon councilors to work hand in hand with civil servants in order to realise the objectives of the local authority. The council wouldl work closely with stakeholders such as SPEDU, BOCCIM and BCL Mine, he said.

The new mayor also called on councilors to enhance their education in order to be well informed and be able to serve the people or community accordingly. “We are leading a learned society and we should always be informed to pursue our duties accordingly and also improve on how we render our services,” he said.

For his part, the deputy mayor reminded the councilors that they were in council to serve the people and not their own interests. “We need to work together as a unit, councilors and civil servants in order to reach the common goal of bringing developments and uplifting lives of people in the mining town,” he said.

Council committees were also elected, chairing the Finance and General Purposes Committee is councilor for Botshabelo East, Mr Kgakgamatso Ramatlopi, councilor for Ikageleng Phase I ward, Ms Mmapule Matlhole chairs the Education, Health and Social Services Committee while Councilor for Tlhakadiawa, Mrs Evelyn Kgodungwe was elected the chairperson for the Self Help Housing Agency and Physical Planning Committee.

Councilor for Kopano ward, Mr Ketshogile Mogae was elected the chairperson of the Audit Committee and the Ms Dorcus Letlole chairs the Local Economic Development Committee.

Meanwhile, the leader of the house is councilor for Sesame Kagiso, Mr Moses Serite while councilor for Botshabelo Central Mr Molefhe Molatlhegi will lead the opposition. Mr Gaopalelwe Letsobe was elected the council chief whip.

Source : BOPA

Source : Botswana Daily News

Category: Governance

Leave a Reply