President Ramaphosa arrives in Windhoek for the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Summit

President Cyril Ramaphosa has this afternoon, 16 August 2018, arrived in Windhoek in the Republic of Namibia to lead South Africa’s delegation at the 38th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

President Ramaphosa will today join the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security meeting which precedes the Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government.

President Ramaphosa will report on progress in SADC’s mediation role in the Kingdom of Lesotho since the recommendation by the SADC Double Troika Summit earlier this year that President Ramaphosa to appoint a high-level personality in former Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke as leader of the Mediation Team to assist him in facilitating the political national dialogue and reform processes in the Kingdom of Lesotho.

The Summit takes place under the theme Promoting Infrastructure Development and Youth Empowerment for Sustainable Developmentrdquo;.

In his role as Outgoing Chair of SADC, President Cyril Ramaphosa will deliver a report to the Summit outlining the work of the regional body for the duration of South Africa’s tenure as Chair from August 2017 to August 2018. As Chair, South Africa was guided by its tenure theme, Partnering with the Private Sector in Developing Industry and Regional Value Chainsrdquo;.

Among other issues, the Summit will discuss socio-economic situation in the region, while Angola will, as Chair of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, report on the state of peace and security in the region. Particular attention will be paid to recent and forthcoming elections in the region, including in Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Eswatini and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

President Ramaphosa will participate in the prize giving ceremony for the annual SADC Media Awards and SADC Secondary School Essay Competition.

South Africa will remain a member of the SADC Troika as Outgoing Chair until August 2019.

President Ramaphosa is accompanied by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation Lindiwe Sisulu; Minister of Energy Jeff Radebe; Minister of Defence Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula; Minister of Trade and Industry Rob Davies; Minister of Finance Nhlanhla Nene, and Minister of State Security Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba.

Source: Republic of South Africa: The Presidency