Segokgo New SEDC Chairperson

| December 2, 2014 | 0 Comments

The Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) councillor for Sefhoke ward in Tlokweng, Mr Phenyo Segokgo is the new chairperson of South East District Council (SEDC).

Mr Segokgo, who was unopposed for the chairmanship post, will be deputised by Councillor Molemi Rakgomo of Botswana Congress Party (BCP) who was also unopposed. In his acceptance speech, Mr Segokgo thanked the councillors for having entrusted him to lead the council.

He promised to lead the council to his level best and encouraged fellow councillors to serve Batswana with diligence and take the country to new heights. Mr Segokgo encouraged councillors to work hard during their five-year mandate and said it was of paramount importance that they served their electorate as a team.

Furthermore, he said serving as councillors in the SEDC dictated that they had to put their political differences aside and thrive to bring services closer to the people. “I believe you will deliver what voters expect from us, which is bringing services closer to them,” Mr Segokgo said.

Mr Segokgo aised the councillors not to be derailed by the benefits that came with their duties as councillors but to commit to serve. He said there was need for the council to champion project implementation and delivery.

Further, Mr Segokgo said SEDC’s proximity to Gaborone availed opportunities that the council must seize. “We do not have any excuse not to deliver,” he said and further noted that the new councillors came at a time when the economy was showing signs of recovery.

Also, he said the council needed to keep its electorate abreast with what happened inside the council. Meanwhile, Tlokweng Sub-council chose Ms Nnaniki Nkwe as its chairperson while Mr Dichabe Seitshiro is her deputy.

Ramotswa sub district will be led by Mr Adolf Mosalaesi while his deputy is Ms Borata Mosomane.

Source : BOPA

Source : Botswana Daily News

Category: Governance

Leave a Reply