Tshweneyage, Losibe Lead Ghanzi Council

| December 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

Nominated councillor, Mr Thato Tshweneyagae of Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) was elected chairperson of Ghanzi District Council on November 28.

Cllr Tshweneyagae won the chairmanship by 20 votes to five of Mr Bashi Thite of Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC).

The deputy council chairperson seat was contested for by nominated Cllr Gregory Losibe of the BDP and Cllr Bojelo David of UDC. Cllr Losibe emerged the winner with 19 votes to six of Cllr David.

In his acceptance speech, Cllr Tshweneyagae who is also former Ghanzi magistrate appealed to councilors to work together for the benefit of the people. He implored them to embrace the Batho Pele slogan to deliver efficiently and diligently, as they were the servants of the people.

Deputy council chairperson also encouraged fellow councilors to promote unity and not to take sides when providing services to the people.

Meanwhile seats of sub-districts were also elected with nominated councillor, Ms Dineo Swartz beingelected as the Ghanzi East sub-district chairperson while Charleshill sub district will be led by Mr Alec Mothopele.

Their deputies are Mr Ezekiel Katjuu and Mr Shadrack Modisane respectively.

Source : BOPA

Source : Botswana Daily News

Category: Governance

Leave a Reply