Zimbabwe: Govt Looks East With New Currency Policy

[The Herald]AS trade and investment ties between Zimbabwe and the Asian countries continue to grow, the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe has widened the foreign currency basket to include four more currencies. Zimbabwe adopted a multi-currency regime on January 29 2009 in the wake of the sanctions-induced collapse of the Zim dollar, and of the four currencies adopted – the South African rand, the Botswana pula, the British Pound Sterling and the US dollar — it is the greenback that has become the main medium of exchange.