Botswana Signs its fourth Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2023–2028

Thulagano Merafe Segokgo, Minister of Communications, Knowledge and Technology, and Hua Liu, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, signed Botswana’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2023–2028 on 22 September, and 28 September 2022 respectively. A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.
Botswana has been an IAEA Member State since 2002. Its 2023–2028 CPF identifies six priority areas:
1. Nuclear and radiation safety
2. Food and agriculture
3. Human health
4. Water resources management
5. Energy planning
6. Tertiary education in nuclear science and technology

Source: International Atomic Energy Agency